The pianist Vijay Iyer has announced a new album with bassist Linda May Han Oh, and drummer Tyshawn Sorey, who perform as the Vijay Iyer Trio. Compassion is out February 2 via ECM, and you can hear the title track and “Prelude: Orison” below. The trio will play a residency at New York’s Village Vanguard around the release date.

Compassion follows Uneasy, Iyer’s 2021 album with Oh and Sorey, as well as his work with Arooj Aftab and Shahzad Ismaily as Love in Exile, who released their debut album as a trio this year.

Read about Uneasy in Pitchfork’s rundown of “The 50 Best Albums of 2021” and about Love in Exile in “The 50 Best Albums of 2023.” Plus, read the feature “Jazz Innovator Vijay Iyer on the Music That Made Him” and check out the Pitchfork Review podcast episode “A Conversation With Improvisational Geniuses Arooj Aftab, Vijay Iyer, and Shahzad Ismaily.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *